Superhero Challenge – Day 2

24 Sep

Well, day 2 and I haven’t quit yet. That’s a good sign, right? Overall today was good. I made sure to make time for breakfast this morning, even though I ended up being a bit late for work (sorry about that boss)! I still struggled getting out of bed, but once I was up and moving I felt great. My shins have bruises scattered all over, a true tell sign that I’m back at cross fit. I also noticed by lunch time I was STARVING, a bit different from yesterday but I think it’s because I didn’t get to eat all of my breakfast due to the whole driving and trying to use a fork during morning commute thing. I’ll have to work on that 😉 (kidding, I’ll be safe).

I found myself at the grocery store again tonight, day 3 in a row, but I actually don’t dread it. I get excited about getting fresh produce and preparing to try new recipes. Thanks to a friend I have some pretty tasty breakfast recipes coming up (didn’t get to it tonight). My biggest challenge happened when I went to get bacon. I never really paid much attention to bacon because I usually get morning star veggie bacon. I wrote down that I should look for “Natural Bacon” and even wrote down a brand name (don’t ask me, I already threw away my list), but was discouraged to see that every package I picked up included sugar in the list of ingredients the bacon was “cured” in. I guess I’ll have to do more research on this. If anyone has any suggestions, please, suggest away!

Day 2 Workout:
My shoulders and hamstrings were a bit sore today so I’m glad I got to take it easy with kickball. Side note — shout out to the Pumped Up Kicks for the ultimate come back being down 4-7 at the top of the 9th and scoring 4 runs and holding the lead for the win (holla)! At any rate… I had fun tonight but am excited to get in a good WOD tomorrow!

Day 2 Meals:
Breakfast: Butter coffee, this time with vanilla and sugar and cut back on the coconut oil and butter. Unfortunately I’m such a spazz in the morning I accidentally dumped way too much vanilla in. Third time’s a charm right? Hopefully? Check back tomorrow and see. I scrambled 2 eggs with tomato, onion and guacamole but like I said above I didn’t get to eat much of it.

Lunch: Spaghetti squash, tomatoes, basil and salad with Olive Oil & Vinegar dressing along with leftover guacamole and plantain chips (they didn’t ever really “crunch” up so I’ll have to see how it goes with my next batch)

Dinner: Leftover paleo tacos with a few bites of bacon while it was cooking for the rest of the week’s meals (couldn’t help myself… bacon is so good!)

Feeling good, feeling great… however I have a feeling it’ll get tough as week one goes on. Encouragement welcome! Sorry for any typos… too tired to grammar check (the journalism major in me is cringing).

Leave a Reply

