Superhero Challenge – Day 8: One Week Down, Two to Go

30 Sep

One week down and I would like to say I can feel a difference. Today my energy level was great, even though I got under 8 hours of sleep, which is one thing I’ve been working on doing (getting 8 hours that is). Today’s workout even felt ok, despite feeling like my legs were a bit weak and tight. I hadn’t done dead lifts since I learned how to do them at the Elements class though, and my lower back is sure feeling it now. I definitely need to work on technique so I don’t do some serious damage with that move. On the bright side, I tried a post workout vanilla whey pumpkin smoothie that I’ve been meaning to try for a week or so now.

Something about blogging makes me want to take selfies, so I apologize... but it was so good I finished every last drop!

Something about blogging makes me want to take selfies, so I apologize… but it was so good I finished every last drop!

The picture makes it look more yellow than it was but it was a fun orange pumpkin color. I added tons of cinnamon (per the recipe's suggestion), which made me happy because I love me some cinnamon.

The picture makes it look more yellow than it was but it was a fun orange pumpkin color. I added tons of cinnamon (per the recipe’s suggestion), which made me happy because I love me some cinnamon.

I got the recipe from Emily Schromm’s blog and I am hooked! It was super easy and had just enough flavor for my taste. Tis the season for pumpkin delciousness! You can find the recipe here, but I cut it in half for my first batch since I wasn’t sure how I would like it (I did keep the full scoop of whey thought).

Oh and how could I forget to report back on the cauliflower lasagna I made last night… it was AMAZING! A few of the bites had more cauliflower flavor, but that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing. The consistency of the cauliflower layer was noodley enough for me. I will absolutely be making this one again! Well, that’s all for tonight, I need to get back to watching Breaking Bad. I just started season 4 and am determined to finish this season and season 5 before I am exposed to any of the series finale spoilers. I haven’t seen any yet and it’s been glorious. I also haven’t been on Twitter since last night so that’s probably why.

Day 8 Workout:

Warm-up

Goblet Squats, Y/T/W

3 Rounds
10 Goblet Squats
5 Each Y/T/Ws
10 Glute Bridge per side

Strength

1a: Back Squat (5 @ 65%, 5 @ 70%, 5 @ 75%, 5 @ 80%) (Worked off of a 100# max so I ended at 85#. I felt like I could have done more but my form wasn’t the greatest today so I need to work on that.)

1b: Weighted Pull-ups (4 x 8) (Using a green band)

WOD

3 RFT
30 Double Under (Still struggle with the ol DUs so I did 60 regular jumps instead, which I still missed jump more than I’d like to admit… did I miss my childhood recess jump rope initiation or what?)
20 Pull Up (RX+ is C2B) (Started with green and red band but that was too much help, I felt like Peter Pan when I’d fling up the in air so I dropped to green and purple, a good decision for this many reps.)
10 Deadlift (225/155) (300/200) (This made for an interesting workout since I haven’t done dead lifts in 1.5-2 months. I went with 85# and that was plenty, as I was still working on my form, which is evident from my sore lower back today. Not a huge fan of these just because I’m nervous about tweaking my lower back but I’m sure I’ll get more comfortable the more I do them.)

Day 8 Meals:
Breakfast: Bowl of the granola cereal I made yesterday with a splash of vanilla almond milk

Lunch: Slice of cauliflower lasagna with a spinach salad on the side.

Post Workout: Pumpkin Vanilla Whey protein smoothie

Dinner: (I actually wasn’t that hungry after the smoothie but I actually am a bit hungry as I’m typing, so lesson learned, plan appropriately) Spinach artichoke dip with Trader Joe’s mild salsa mixed in and plantain chips and an apple for a evening snack.

Tomorrow’s goal — water intake… I’m going to be a stickler on 64+ oz of water (which I personally find exhausting but I know it’s the right thing to do).

Leave a Reply

