Superhero Challenge – Day 1

23 Sep

I have to apologize in advance. I intended for this to be a lengthy post discussing in detail how my day went but I am wiped!!! To summarize, here is the summary of what I’m doing:

What: Superhero Blueprint 21 Day Challenge

Daily Points

Each day you will be able to enter your points for the day. You can get up to 6 points per day, 1 each for the following:

Daily Points

Each day you will be able to enter your points for the day. You can get up to 4 points per day, 1 each for the following:

Movement/Mobility – 1 Point
It is important to move and stretch every day. Movement can be lifting weights, running, skiing, racquetball, or just going for a walk. Mobility can be things like stretching or foam rolling. The important thing is to be moving or stretching for at least 10 minutes, even on rest days.
Fish Oil – 1 Point
Fish oil is high in Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids. It has been shown to reduce inflammation, blood pressure, and even your risk of cancer. Take one teaspoon per day for this point. You can find my favorite at Stronger Faster Healthier.
No Sugar – 1 Point
Sugar is, at it’s very essence, almost pure energy. The problem is that we are very good at storing this energy as fat. That means no soda, no candy, no Gatorade, no delicious white mochas from Starbucks.
No Alcohol – 1 Point
Once digested, alcohol is essentially a sugar, causing the same problems that refined table sugar has. Additionally, it interferes with a number of your body’s processes, such as muscle recovery. It’ll be tough, but stick with it!
No Refined Carbs – 1 Point
Refined carbohydrates, like bread, pasta, and flour, act very similarly to sugar. Your body easily converts them into glucose, which gets stored as fat if you don’t use it right away. Complex carbs, especially from fruits and veggies, are much better.
Tip Watched & Executed – 1 Point
Each day you’ll receive a tip from me. Read the tip and watch the video. Some tips will contain an extra challenge that you need to complete for this point.

Why: I’ve been doing cross fit for a couple of months now and just want to step it up a notch and prove to myself that I CAN do this. Truth me told, I’ve done my fair share of shit talking the paleo diet, mostly stemming from my self doubt that I could go without carbs and cheese (hello – this is Wisconsin). Am I going for absolute perfection? No, especially because I’m too lazy to go buy fish oil. I am, however, taking the workout and diet part seriously and challenging myself to stick to it. That means attempting no alcohol for 21 days (say what?!). Not that I NEED to drink, but I am going to miss wine. Which brings me back to why, why am I chronicling my 21 days? Well, because I need to step up my blogging game for one. For two, I will hold myself more accountable if I put it out to the interwebz. 

Day 1 Workout: Cross Fit
I need to admit, it’s been almost a month since I’ve been to Cross Fit so I was terrified. I’m talking butterflies in my stomach absolutely DREADING walking in. The good news is, by now I’m not on a first name basis with a few people at the gym. The bad news is, the noticed by absence and when asked where I’ve been, I straight up admitted, “I’ve been lazy. I went on vacation and kind of just mentally stayed there.” Thankfully that was the respectable answer. No more excuses!!

WARM-UP:
Goblet Squats, Y/T/Ws
Stretch
3 Round
5 OHS
5 (some sort of arm stretch thing)
5 Leg planks

STRENGTH:
1a) Back Squat (I hit a PR of 100… which was awesome because I took it light to see where I was at and know I could have done more for my 1 rep max… awesome feeling!!)
5 @ 70% – 5 @ 80% – 3 @ 85% – 2 @ 90% – 1 @ 100% (Rest 60 sec)
1b) Pull Up
5 x 6 – add weight as needed (Rest 60 sec)

WOD:
15-12-9
Power Snatch (95/65) (Since I’m still not comfortable with this move I just used the bar, so my weight was 35 and hot damn was that enough… I need to get more practice with these)
C2B Pull Up
Ring Dip

Day 1 Meals:
Breakfast: Coffee with butter, coconut oil and vanilla… I was running late so I didn’t have anything to eat (I know, I know, bad  me)

Lunch: Spaghetti squash, tomatoes, basil and salad with Olive Oil & Vinegar dressing (hopefully that’s ok…)

Dinner: Paleo Tacos, Guacamole, a few Planta

in chips (they didn’t finish until I was already done) – This was my first time making everything and it was DELICIOUS!!!

Paleo Tacos    Plantain Crackers and Guac

Now… I finish my water and I sleep. I am wiped… resting up for day 2!

Leave a comment